Save Your Driver License
Watch these videos to learn more about how we can defend your Utah criminal charges:
You only have 10 days to file a driver license hearing request!
A DLD hearing is the ONLY way to challenge a revocation of your driving privileges after arrest. Our office will file your request for free without obligation.
Many Utah criminal defense attorneys will not represent clients in the civil portion of a DUI or alcohol-related charge. We at Schatz, Anderson & Associates believe in representing our clients from the beginning of the case to the end, which includes the civil fight for your driver license with the Utah Driver License Division. Below are some of the common questions we receive regarding Utah driver licenses and criminal charges.
Answers to Common Questions about Driver License Issues
Defending DUI cases is not easy, but with our attorneys’ extensive training in Field Sobriety Tests (most of our attorneys are certified Standardized Field Sobriety Test Instructors) and our training in the operation and calibration of the breath testing machine as well as the process of testing blood for drugs and alcohol, we are able to defend as many DUIs as possible and get great results for our clients. Our attorneys have handled hundreds of Motion Hearings and trials, and we have been successful at winning all variety of Motions, resulting in dismissal or reduction of hundreds of DUI cases. Our attorneys are known by cops, prosecutors, and judges alike as being skilled litigators, and our success rate at defending DUI cases at trials is much higher than the average attorney handling DUI cases. But not every case is gifted with good defenses, so we have also developed ways to avoid the most serious consequences of a DUI charge by negotiating favorable plea bargains.
NO!!! But you ONLY HAVE 10 CALENDAR DAYS from the date of arrest to request an administrative driver’s license hearing with the Utah Driver License Division (DLD). This civil hearing will allow you to argue your case to retain your driving privileges. It is helpful to have an experienced attorney representing you even at this early stage in your case. Call our office at 801.746.0447 to have one of our paralegals help you file this request free of charge and with no obligation, or fill out the State’s form located here. If you fail to file in time, your license will be automatically suspended for 120 days to 3 years, with no option for a limited work permit and no chance to appeal.
If you had a valid license at the time of your arrest, the officer should have issued you a temporary driver license good for 30 days from the date of your arrest. Check your copy of the DUI Summons and Citation to see if the arresting officer checked the “Valid” box near the bottom of the citation certifying that the DUI Summons and Citation serves as a temporary license for 30 days.
Utah DUI Driver License Suspensions are some of the harshest in the country. The length of the suspension depends on your prior driving history and whether or not you submitted to a chemical test.
- If it is your first DUI offense in 10 years and you did submit to a blood, breath, or urine test as requested by the officer, your license can be suspended for 120 days and you will be statutorily classified as an Alcohol Restricted Driver (click here for more info about Utah’s Alcohol Restricted Driver Law) for 2 years.
- If it is a second or subsequent DUI offense in 10 years and you did submit to a blood, breath, or urine test as requested by the officer, your license can be suspended for 2 years and you will be statutorily classified as an Interlock Restricted Driver (click here for more info about Utah’s Alcohol Restricted Driver Law) for 10 years.
- If it is your first DUI offense in 10 years and you refused to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test as requested by the officer, your license can be suspended for 18 months and you will be statutorily classified as an Alcohol Restricted Driver (click here for more info about Utah’s Alcohol Restricted Driver Law) for 5 years and classified as an Interlock Restricted Driver (click here for more info about Utah’s Interlock Restricted Driver Law) for a minimum of 3 years.
- If it is your second or subsequent DUI offense in 10 years and you refused to submit to a blood, breath or urine test as requested by the officer, your license can be suspended for 3 years.
Even if you have an out of state driver license, your driving privileges can still be suspended in the State of Utah by the Utah Driver License Division. That means that even if you have an out of state license, you cannot drive in the State of Utah. Further, the Utah DLD will post the suspension information on a nationwide database shared by the many states’ DLDs, which may also result in a suspension of your driver license in your home state. This would mean that you could not legally drive in any state.
NO!!!! Not in Utah!! Utah law does not allow DUI offenders to obtain a restricted license to and from work or school. If you are caught driving—for any reason—during the suspension period, your suspension time will be doubled, and you will be charged with Driving on Suspension, a Class B Misdemeanor. (Click here for more info about Utah’s Driving on Suspension Law)
To preserve your right to drive in Utah, you must submit a written request for hearing within 10 calendar days of the date of your arrest. After you submit the request, you will be mailed a notice of hearing in about 7-10 days. A hearing must be held within 29 days of the date of your arrest. Despite what cops, prosecutors, and even some other defense attorneys tell you, DLD Administrative Hearings CAN BE WON and YOUR DRIVER LICENSE CAN BE SAVED!!! Contact our office NOW to have us file a request for a DLD hearing on your behalf free of charge and obligation.
These hearings can be won and your license saved on many grounds, so it is important to have a skillful and knowledgeable Utah criminal defense attorney represent you at the hearing. Our Utah DUI attorneys specialize in DUI cases and Driver License Hearings, we have handled thousands of administrative hearings in Utah, and we have a proven track record of winning these hearings.
Let's get started crafting your defense!
We have a fully staffed knowledgeable, experienced legal team ready to help you