In Utah, felonies are divided by “degrees” of seriousness. There are four categories of felonies in the state. Each category comes with an associated range of jail time and fines, up to the potential for capital punishment.
Starting with the least serious felonies, 3rd degree felonies include practicing medicine without a license, theft, domestic crimes and forgery. These crimes are punishable by up to 5 years in prison and $5,000 in fines.
2nd degree felonies include burglary and robbery, grand theft, white collar crimes, aggravated crimes, Utah felony DUI (defined by circumstances and repeat offense), sexual crimes, and enticement of a minor with intent to commit a 1st degree offense (trying to lure a child with intent to kidnap). These crimes will earn the convicted offender 1 to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
In the category of 1st degree felonies, the more serious drug crimes are included. In addition, kidnapping, manslaughter, and murder are all considered 1st degree felonies. These crimes are punishable in Utah with a fine of up to $10,000 and a prison term of up to 50 years.
Finally, the most serious offenses in Utah are termed Capital Felonies. This category includes rape, kidnapping, aggravated murder, and arson. In this way, a serial rapist, for example, can be taken off the streets with one of three options: a prison term from twenty years to life, life imprisonment without possibility of parole, or death. All of these consequences are weighed by the judge overseeing the case, in an attempt to make the punishment fit the crime.